Webinar series: Voices from the South - Contributing to the production of evidence on VAW and VAC

20 October - 11 November 2021
The SVRI has created a series of regional and thematic reports to showcase the work and highlight local research projects supported by its Grant Making Programme between 2014 and 2020, in partnership with the World Bank through the GBV Development Market Place Award. Join us as we launch these exciting products and discuss the state of research on VAW and VAC in the continent.

Background

Across the world, violence against women and violence against children has reached pandemic levels. Statistics show that 1 in 3 women experience physical or sexual violence in their lifetime. To find effective interventions, we need rigorous research. The resulting knowledge enables us to help and support survivors, while bringing about the necessary systemic change to prevent – and ultimately end – such violence.

We know that change doesn’t happen overnight. But we need to start somewhere: with understanding. We believe in the value of research and the power of building evidence to gain that understanding and to bring about change. We believe in ethical and actionable research guided by feminist principles, conducted by researchers from LMICs – if those are the settings where the research occurs – and broadly shared with stakeholders and communities. As knowledge managers in the field, the SVRI funds, gathers, develops, distils and disseminates knowledge for improving practice. We enable knowledge exchange and sharing by providing a variety of communication platforms to network, learn, discuss, influence, and develop innovations to help us reach our goals. Born out of the need to increase research in the field in low- and middle-income countries, the SVRI established a Grant Making Programme in 2014. The programme was run in partnership with the World Bank between 2016-2020.

The SVRI has created a series of regional and thematic reports to showcase the work and highlight local research projects supported by its Grant Making Programme between 2014 and 2020, in partnership with the World Bank through the GBV Development Market Place Award.

Between 2014 and 2020, we made 60 grants globally:

  • 19 in Africa
  • 27 in total in Asian regions
  • 13 in Latin America and the Caribbean (LAC).

The reports themselves are tools that spread our message: they share findings that help building evidence on what programmes work or do not work, share grantees findings, and raise awareness. Our regional reports showcase projects and initiatives that have positively affected participants, communities, and local districts. Some have been expanded to reach more of the population. Most of the studies are peer-reviewed and published with recommendations and lessons for the field. In all cases, these projects help us build a shared understanding of what works to help survivors, prevent violence against women and violence against children, and to bring about fundamental change.

The SVRI and the World Bank Group will launch the series of reports through webinars running between 20 October - 11 November 2021. Register below.

Webinar 1: Research in Africa

Oct 20, 2021, 16h00 - 17h00 SAST / 10h00 - 11h00 EDT

Presentation:

Africa Report:

Webinar 2: Research in Asia 

Oct 28, 2021, 13h00 - 14h00 SAST / 07h00 - 08h00 EDT / 16h30 - 17h30 IST

Register here.

Asia Report:

Webinar 3: Research in Latin America and the Caribbean 

Nov 4, 2021, 16h00 - 17h00 SAST / 10h00 - 11h00 EDT

Register here.

Webinar 4: Research on engaging men and boys, and early childhood and youth interventions

Thematic briefs launch

Nov 11, 2021, 15h00 - 16h00 SAST / 09h00 - 10h00 EDT

Register here.